Type in your vote in the box spaces below to cast your vote for the 2010-11 Butler SAAC student-athlete awards.

CLICK HERE to download descriptions of each candidate. This will help you through the voting process. 

1. The Butler Way Award - “Athlete who best exemplifies the Butler Way"
The Butler Way demands commitment, denies selfishness and accepts reality, yet seeks constant improvement while promoting the good of the team above self. The Butler Way Award will be given to a female and male athlete who best represent the Butler Way.

MALE NOMINEES                                  FEMALE NOMINEES
1. Jeff Poss (football)                              1. Sarah Phelps (women's soccer)

2. Conner Burt (men's soccer)               2. Azjah Bass (women's basketball)

3.  Brent Sever (men's track)                3. Mallory Winters (softball)

4.  Matt Howard (men's basketball)       4. Cam Thompson (women's tennis)


2. Team of the Year - “Most successful team in the realm of athletic competition”
The Team of the Year award will be given to the team with the most success throughout its season. Records, significant wins, regular season standings, tournament championships and NCAA tournament success will all be criteria for judging. 

1. Men's Cross Country - 13th consecutive league title; placed 6th in Great Lakes Region.

2. Men's Soccer - one of 2 teams in nation to go undefeated in regular season; climbed to No. 4 in the nation and was No. 12 seed in NCAA Tournament; won league regular season and tournament titles; finished 16-1-3 (7-0-1 HL).

3. Volleyball - earned NCAA berth for first time in 13 years, going 21-10; won Horizon League Championship and was 2nd in regular season.

4. Men's Basketball - advanced to NCAA national title game for second straight year, winning Southeast Regional; won Horizon League tourney and tied for title in regular season; finished 28-10 (13-5 HL); finished No. 2 in ESPN/USA Today Coaches' Poll; became first team in the history of Indiana to go to consecutive Final Fours.


3. Play of the Year - “Most impressive single sports act of the year”          
Defined as the single best athletic instance or play, the Play of the Year award will be given to an individual athlete or athletes who played a significant role in the most impressive sports play.

1. Erin Falkenberry - hit 3 consecutive home runs vs. Detroit; hit 5 HRs during the series

2. Jacob Capito - game-winning goal at Indiana; scored in top corner from 30 yds out vs. IU

3. Chrishawn Hopkins - freshman hit key 3-pointer in Elite 8 vs. Florida; gave BU a 63-59 lead.

4. Baseball - relay throw from outfield wall to tag runner out at home

5. Brandon Bayliss - match at Mercer tied 3-3, Bayliss guts out 3-set, tie-breaker win at No.1 singles.

4. Butler Sports Moment of the Year - “Most significant sports event of the year”
The Butler Sports Moment of the Year will be awarded to a team that reaches a defining point in its season that best represents the Butler student-athlete’s commitment to excellence.

1. Matt Howard scores buzzer-beater lay-up at the buzzer to help Dawgs beat Old Dominion.

2. With series tied 1-1, BU softball battles for dramatic 2-1, 16-inning game; Jenny Esparza pitched all 16 innings.  

3. BU women's tennis beats 3 teams - Illinois St., Western Mich., Xavier - for first time ever. Team then beats Evansville for its fourth win in 10 days.

4. With the hill packed with fans, Fabian Knopfler makes 3 PK saves in shootout to give Butler the Horizon League Championship title and NCAA bid. 

5. Unsung Hero Award - “Hardest working athlete with the least recognition”
The Unsung Hero award will be given to a male and female athlete who goes above and beyond the expectations of their teammates and coaching staff. The athlete chosen is someone who puts in the extra effort day in and day out without expecting praise or recognition. An Unsung Hero demonstrates leadership qualities while putting the team above themselves.

MALE NOMINEES                                          FEMALE NOMINEES
1. Andy Holte (men's soccer)                          1. Mary Allen (women's soccer)

2. Craig Jordan (men's track)                          2. Marbeth Shiell (women's track)

3. Grant Leinendecker (men's basketball)       3. Jen Chasteen (softball)

4. Colin Reenan (men's tennis)                       4. Kate Panawash (women's tennis)
                                                                      5. Maureen Nesbit (volleyball)
                                                                      6. Devin Brierly (women's basketball)