Eleven Butler Student-Athletes Named to All-Academic Teams

Eleven Butler Student-Athletes Named to All-Academic Teams

April 26, 2005

Eleven Bulldogs have been recognized on the 2004-05 Winter Academic All-Horizon League teams, the conference office announced Tuesday (April 26). Butler's total trailed only UW-Green Bay, which had 12 student-athletes honored. In all, 78 student-athletes were highlighted in men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's indoor track and field, and men's and women's basketball.

Butler's Jesse Levknecht (women's swimming) earned the distinction for the third consecutive season, while Brian Dunn (men's track) and Monika Schneider (women's track) return after being named to the 2003-04 teams.

Other Butler honorees include Raj Duggal (men's swimming); Andrew Sherman, Nick Goodliffe and Corey Norman of men's indoor track and field; women's track members Maria Beitel and Victoria Mitchell; and Drew Streicher and Andy Grunst of men's basketball.

The Winter Academic All-Horizon League Teams are selected by the Horizon League Sports Information Directors and Faculty Athletic Representatives. Nominees must meet the following criteria: 1) a cumulative grade-point average (G.P.A.) of 3.25 or better on a 4.00 scale; 2) have completed at least three semesters at the same institution; and 3) be a starter or significant contributor in a League-sponsored sport. The team is comprised of the same number of first-team All-Horizon League student-athletes in each sport. Ties are not broken.

For a complete listing of the student-athletes honored, click here for the Horizon League's release.

Click here to access Butler's Student-Athlete Academic Recognition page.