Butler Athletics Places Second In McCafferty Trophy Standings

May 28, 2008

Indianapolis, Ind. - Butler University concluded yet another successful athletics season during the 2007-08 campaign, as the Bulldogs placed in a tie for second in the running for the James J. McCafferty Trophy, the Horizon League's all-sports championship award.

Butler finished in a deadlock with Milwaukee with 43 points, falling just short of winner Cleveland State's 46 points. The Bulldogs also finished second in the women's all-sports standings with 23 points and third in the men's all-sports race with 20.

The Bulldogs claimed a total of five championships in four different sports during the athletic season. The men's and women's cross country teams both won the Horizon League Championship in the fall before the men's basketball team earned both the league's regular season and tournament titles in March. The Bulldog women's golf team, meanwhile, took home the tournament title in April.

Butler is a six-time winner of the James J. McCafferty Trophy, the most titles among current league members.

The McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to a member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points, based on their finish in the league's 19 championship sports. For the sports of men's and women's soccer, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on combined regular-season and championship finishes. For all other sports, points are based on performance in the League championships.

The award is named in honor of James J. McCafferty, who served as the conference's first commissioner from 1979-80.

McCafferty Trophy Standings
1. Cleveland State, 46.0
T-2. Butler, 43.0
T-2. Milwaukee, 43.0
T-4. UIC, 33.0
T-4. Wright State, 33.0
T-6. Youngstown State, 26.0
T-6.Loyola, 26.0
8. Green Bay, 19.0
9. Valparaiso, 15.0
10. Detroit, 14.5

Women's Sports
1. Milwaukee, 27.0
2. Butler, 23.0
3. Cleveland State, 21.0
4. Wright State, 18.0
5. Green Bay, 14.0
6. Youngstown State, 13.0
T-7. Valparaiso, 11.5
T-7. Loyola, 11.5
9. UIC, 11.0
10. Detroit, 7.0

Men's Sports
1. Cleveland State, 25.0
2. UIC, 22.0
3. Butler, 20.0
4. Milwaukee, 16.0
5. Wright State, 15.0
6. Loyola, 14.5
7. Youngstown State, 13.0
8. Detroit, 7.5
9. Green Bay, 5.0
10. Valparaiso, 3.5