Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

June 6, 2003

For the second consecutive year and for the fifth time in seven years, Butler University has won the James J. McCafferty Trophy, presented to the Horizon League's all-sports champion. Butler is the only current member of the Horizon League to have captured the league's all-sports trophy more than once.

The symbol of a successful broad-based athletic program, the McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to the member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points in league championships. The trophy is presented in honor of James J. McCafferty, the former Xavier University men's basketball coach and director of athletics who served as the league's first commissioner in 1979-80.

Schools earn performance points based on their finish in all 18 championship sports offered by the Horizon League. For the sports of men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's and women's basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on the combined regular season and championship finish. In the sports of men's and women's cross country, men's and women's indoor and outdoor track and field, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's golf, and men's and women's tennis, points are awarded based on the finish in the league championship.

The Bulldogs won three league championships, one league regular season title and recorded five runner-up finishes to compile 47.5 points in the league all-sports race. UW-Milwaukee finished second in the competition with 44.5 points, while Wright State was third with 34.5 points. Loyola came in fourth (34.0), followed by UIC (29.5), UW-Green Bay (28), Youngstown State (21.5), Detroit (17) and Cleveland State (16).

Butler further captured the Men's All-Sports Award with 30 total points, while UW-Milwaukee earned the Women's All-Sports Award with 25.5 points. The Bulldogs won league championships in men's tennis, men's cross country and women's cross country and had a league regular season title in men's basketball. Butler's runner-up finishes came in women's soccer, women's tennis, men's golf, women's track and field and baseball.

The McCafferty Trophy has been presented to the league's All-Sports Champion since the league's inaugural season in 1979-80. Oral Roberts won the award for the first seven years of the league's existence, while Evansville captured the 1986-87 and 1987-88 awards. Notre Dame won seven straight titles from 1988 to 1995, before Northern Illinois captured the crown in 1995-96. Butler won the first of three consecutive all-sports championships in 1996-97, while UIC (1999-2000) and UW-Milwaukee (2000-01) each claimed one trophy.