Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

Butler Captures James J. McCafferty Trophy

Butler, fueled by three conference titles and two regular season championships, claimed the 2010 James J. McCafferty Trophy as the Horizon League’s all-sports champion for a record-tying seventh time and first since 2006-07.  The Bulldogs became the third program in league history to earn the all-sports award seven times!

Butler accumulated 51.5 points, a five-year league high, to edge defending all-sports champ Milwaukee for the 2009-10 title.  Butler also earned the Men’s All-Sports Award with 28.5 points while Milwaukee claimed the Women’s All-Sports Award with 27 points.

The Panthers recorded a league-high eight conference titles this past year, but finished second in the standings with 51 points.  Milwaukee had claimed the all-sports trophy five times since 2000-01.  Cleveland State placed third with 36 points, followed by Wright State and Green Bay with 33.5 and 30 points, respectively.

The McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to a member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points, based on their finish in the League’s 19 championship sports. For the sports of men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, men’s and women’s basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on combined regular-season (60 percent) and championship (40 percent) finishes. For all other sports, points are based on performance in the League championships. The award is named in honor of James J. McCafferty, who served as the conference’s first commissioner from 1979-80.

“The Horizon League is pleased to honor Butler with the 2010 McCafferty Trophy and Men’s All-Sports Award”, said Horizon League Commissioner Jon LeCrone.  “These awards are a true testament to the hard working and well-rounded Butler athletic department.  Congratulations to the Bulldog coaches, student-athletes and administration on a tremendous season.

A highlight for Butler during the 2009-10 season was the performance of the men’s basketball program.  The Bulldogs competed in the NCAA National Championship Game, suffering a heart-breaking loss to Duke, 61-59.  Not only was Butler the first league team to play in the title game, but it was the first time a member school advanced to the elite eight and beyond.  The Bulldogs finished with a school- and league-record 33 wins, while capturing Horizon League regular season and tournament championships.  Butler also won league championships in men’s and women’s cross country, while claiming a regular season title in men’s soccer.

“Congratulations to our student-athletes, coaches and staff for their tireless efforts which have resulted in their capturing the 2010 Horizon League McCafferty Trophy”, said Butler Director of Athletics Barry Collier.  This trophy recognizes the year long focus of outstanding Bulldog teams who have competed The Butler Way.”

Butler joins former league members Oral Roberts and Notre Dame with seven McCafferty Trophies.