Butler's John Parry Named NACDA Athletic Director Of The Year

Butler's John Parry Named NACDA Athletic Director Of The Year

June 11, 2003

The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics has named John Parry of Butler University as Athletic Director of the Year in the Central Region of the NCAA I-AA/I-AAA. Parry is one of 25 collegiate athletic directors honored by NACDA and one of four selected in the I-AA/I-AAA category.

Parry recently completed his 13th year as Butler's director of athletics. During the 2003-04 academic year, Butler athletic teams won three Horizon League championships, one league regular season title and recorded five league runner-up finishes. Butler made NCAA Championship appearances in men's cross country, men's basketball and men's tennis. The Bulldogs captured the Horizon League's James J. McCafferty Award, presented for all-sports excellence, for the second consecutive year and for the fifth time in the past seven years.

Under Parry's leadership, Butler has added women's soccer and golf and men's lacrosse teams, and has become recognized nationally as having one of the best mid-major men's basketball programs in the country. The Bulldogs have won 44 conference regular season and tournament league championships in 12 sports and have made 21 NCAA tournament appearances in nine sports. Butler has topped its league in the number of student-athletes named to the Academic Honor Roll for eight consecutive years, and the university regularly graduates 80% of its student-athletes in a four-year period.

During Parry's tenure, Butler has made significant improvements to the soccer/lacrosse, baseball and softball fields, the outdoor track and to Hinkle Fieldhouse, including the addition of a 4,000-square-foot weight room.

Parry has served on the NCAA Management Council, the NCAA Lacrosse Committee, and NCAA Division I Men's Basketball and Football issues committees. He has been chair of the Horizon League's Executive Committee and has served on the Executive Committee of NACDA. He also serves as a co-chair of the Indianapolis Local Organizing Committee, which has hosted the NCAA FInal Four three times and NCAA first/second round tournaments six times.

All NACDA-member athletic directors in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an A.D. for a minimum of five academic years, demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes, continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence, and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishment. Nominations for the Athletic Directory of the Year award came from NACDA-member athletic directors, institutional presidents and conference commissioners.

The Athletic Director of the Year awards will be presented during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon at NACDA's 38th annual Convention, June 13-18, in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.