Golfest A Success As Rain Clouds Disappear

Golfest - Butler University's annual golf outing that supports Bulldog Athletics - was held on Monday, June 8 at Pebble Brook Golf Club in Noblesville, Ind.

The event proved successful again in 2009, with 218 participants and more than 50 sponsors supporting the event.  The field of golfers expected to get rained on, but wet weather held off and umbrellas weren't needed as some great golf was played

"It was a great day to connect with our alumni and fans during the summer and make sure they are excited for the 2009-10 seasons," said Athletic Director Barry Collier.

Golfest traditionally takes place the day after the Butler Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony, which was held on Sunday, June 7 in the Atherton Union on Butler's campus.

"To have Hall of Fame inductions and conduct a golf outing with 200-plus participants all in the course of 24 hours is very special," said Golfest organizer and Manager of External Operations Mike Freeman.  "The events could not happen without the support of the B-Association and volunteers from the Athletic Department and University Advancement."

Scramble Winners
Men's North Course Division -  J.T. Huxford, Greg Waddell, Eric Harvey & John Abbott
Men's South Course Division - Claude Burgess, John Talbert, Craig Olney & Bud Ruby
Mixed South Course Division - SueEllen Sutherlin, Rod Sutherlin, Dino Merlina & Tony Sales
Women's South Course Division - Sally Corman, Judy Schmits, Karen Scott & Stephanie Lorton

On-Course Contest Winners
Men's Long Drive North Course - Howard Shearon
Men's Long Drive South Course - Will Haskett
Women's Long Drive South Course - Kelly Fischer
Closest to Pin North Course - George Gabor
Closest to Pin South Course - Will Haskett
Women's Closest to Pin South Course - Beth Couture

The winning team with a 53 from the Men's Division on the North
Course - J.T. Huxford, Greg Waddell, Eric Harvey and John Abbott.

Head Men's Basketball Coach Brad Stevens (center) poses for a
picture with the team of Jim Eckels, Bob Todd, Ron Schulte and
Gerald Spranger.