Six Individuals, One Team Selected For Butler Hall of Fame

Six Individuals, One Team Selected For Butler Hall of Fame

July 18, 2005

Six former student-athletes and Butler's first nationally-ranked men's basketball team will be inducted into the Butler University Athletic Hall of Fame on Sunday, July 24. The Hall of Fame Class of 2005 will be honored during a special induction dinner ceremony in the Reilly Room of Butler's Atherton Center, beginning at 5:30 p.m.

Tabbed to be Butler's newest Hall of Fame induction class are former student-athletes Phil Long (`62, football), Elmer O'Banion (`62, football), Marty Monserez (`74, basketball), Brad Odom (`77, track and cross country), and Jill Taylor Goeglein (`89, volleyball). Max Schumacher (`54), president and chairman of the board of the Indianapolis Indians, will be a Special Service Award recipient, and the 1948-49 men's basketball squad will be inducted as a team. The new members will constitute the 15th class to be enshrined in Butler's Hall of Fame.

Long was a three-year letterwinner as a quarterback on the most successful football teams in Butler history. He led the Indiana Collegiate Conference in passing in 1961, while helping the Bulldogs to their second unbeaten season in three years. He was a two-time, first team all-conference quarterback, and he was named Butler's Most Valuable Player in 1961. Long played on Butler teams that compiled a 26-1 record over three seasons.

O'Banion played in the backfield on Butler's successful football teams from 1958 to 1960. He joined Hall of Fame member John Skirchak at running back to give the Bulldogs one of the most potent rushing attacks in the Indiana Collegiate Conference. Legendary Butler Hall of Fame coach Paul D. "Tony" Hinkle rated the duo "...among the finest backs in Butler history." A three-year letterwinner, O'Banion led the Bulldogs in rushing in 1960, while finishing as the team's second-leading scorer. He helped Butler to a 25-2 record during his three seasons.

Monserez was a three-year letterwinner on Butler's basketball teams from 1971 to 1974. He earned all-conference honors as a senior, after leading the Bulldogs in scoring. He was a team co-captain and Butler's Hilton U. Brown Mental Attitude Award winner in 1973-74. The hard-working forward is one of just four players in Butler basketball history to grab 20 rebounds in a single game. He's also the father of 2003-04 Butler Most Valuable Player, Mike Monserez.

Odom compiled a remarkable career as a distance runner at Butler from 1973 to 1977. He was a three-time Butler cross country Most Valuable Performer, and he was named the Most Outstanding Cross Country Runner in the Heartland Collegiate Conference twice! He won individual league cross country championships in both 1976 and 1977. Odom earned four varsity letters in cross country and two varsity letters in track during his Butler career.

Jill Taylor Goeglein was equally comfortable in the classroom and on the volleyball court. She's the only volleyball player in Butler history to be named to the Academic All-America team, and she received the Horizon League's Coleman Medal of Honor for outstanding achievement in academic/athletics. A two-time all-league player and Butler MVP, she was named conference Player of the Year in 1988. She is Butler's all-time leader in service aces.

Schumacher, who earned a varsity letter as a member of Butler's baseball team in 1954, has been "Mr. Baseball" in Indianapolis for several decades. He was hired as the Indianapolis Indians' ticket manager in 1957 and then became the team's general manager in 1961, president in 1969 and chairman of the board in 1997. In 2000, Baseball America selected the Indianapolis Indians as the Triple-A Team of the Decade for the 1990's. Schumacher is a past president of the Indianapolis Downtown Kiwanis Club, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Indianapolis, and past chairman and president of Junior Baseball, Inc., of Indianapolis. He has a street in Indianapolis named after him.

The 1948-49 men's basketball team stood out in an era of great teams at Butler shortly after World War II. Led by Coach Hinkle, the `48-49 Butler squad posted an 18-5 record, including an 8-2 mark in the Mid-American Conference. The Bulldogs defeated both Indiana and Purdue to win the 1948 Hoosier Classic holiday tournament, and later picked up victories over both Notre Dame and Cincinnati. The team was the first Butler squad to be ranked in the Associated Press national poll, reaching as high as 11th in the nation and remaining in the "Top 20" for eight consecutive weeks! The team included seven Butler Hall of Fame members - Hinkle, John Barrowcliff, Jim Doyle, Ralph "Buckshot" O'Brien, Bill Shepherd, Charlie Maas and Marvin Wood.

The Butler Hall of Fame was created in 1991 to provide a forum in which those who have brought honor and respect to Butler University and its athletic program could be acknowledged and permanently enshrined in Hinkle Fieldhouse. Inductees have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of the university in the field of athletics, and continued to demonstrate in their lives the values imparted by athletics. The Hall of Fame wall is located near the entrance to Hinkle Fieldhouse.