Butler Places 17 on Spring Academic All-Horizon League

A league-best seventeen Butler student-athletes were named Academic All-Horizon League for the spring 2011 semester. Two baseball players, one softball player, four golfers, two men's tennis players, and eight indoor track and field runners were selected.

Throughout the conference, 89 student-athletes were honored. Butler was followed by Youngstown State with 13 selections and Loyola with 10 nominees. UIC and Valparaiso had nine picks each, while Cleveland State and Detroit each had eight selections. To round out the league, Milwaukee had six, Wright State had five and Green Bay had four picks. Honorees were voted on by the faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors of each Horizon League member institution.

The Butler baseball team was represented by junior Griffin Richeson, who has the highest GPA of the 17 student-athletes selected, and junior Mike Hernandez. Hernandez and junior Lauren McNulty, the selection of the Bulldog softball team, were honored for the second year in a row.

Senior Ryan Wegeng, junior Claire Cornelius, senior Molly Fields and junior Michelle Nash represented the Butler men's and women's golf teams. The women's golf team captured the Horizon League Championship this spring. Senior Brandon Bayliss and junior Lenz Theodor were the representatives of the Butler men's tennis team.

Five Bulldog men's indoor track and field runners were chosen: graduates Thomas Boardman, Kristopher Gauson and Matt Proctor, and seniors Matthew Lauder and Justin Roeder. Gauson, Lauder and Roeder are also two-time selections. Graduate Rosie Edwards and sophomores Katie Clark and Kaitlyn Love were the women's track and field squad honorees.

To be eligible for selection, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher, based on a 4.00 point scale, have completed at least one year at the member institution, and have earned at least 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits. The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports.