Swimming Posts Four Wins, 10 Season-Best Marks At Youngstown State

Swimming Posts Four Wins, 10 Season-Best Marks At Youngstown State

Nov. 1, 2008


Complete Results


Youngstown, Ohio - Butler swimmers posted 10 season-best times, including a team-best swim in the 100 free by Sarah Lynne Gates, as the Bulldogs went head-to-head with host Youngstown State in dual meet action on Saturday (Nov. 1) afternoon in the Beeghly Center.

YSU picked up the win in the meet, holding off Butler 144-87.

Gates scored a win and tallied a team season-best mark in the 100 freestyle with a swim of 57.65, topping the previous best by over a second and a half. She also added a top-time in the 400 IM with a swim of 4:56.20 and placed second overall in the 100 back with a time of 1:02.95.

Stephanie Moles and Momo Wilson each picked up victories in the meet, with Moles posting a 5:52.25 in the 500 freestyle and Wilson notching a 1:12.00 in the 100 fly. Moles also added a third-place showing in the 200 free with a time of 2:09.92, while Wilson picked up a third-place time of 2:37.72 in the 200 breaststroke.

Allison Qualls recorded a second-place finish in the 100 fly, swimming the trip in 1:13.39, and chipped in a third-place showing in the 200 fly with a time of 2:41.05.

Leigh Weston continued her success in the breaststroke events, placing second in the 200 with a time of 2:36.81 and third in the 100 with a time of 1:12.60. Katie Krueger added a third-place time of 26.95 in the 50 free.

Allison Shafer notched a second-place mark in the 400 IM with a time of 5:24.96, while Libby Bates garnered a pair of fourth-place times, swimming the 1,000 free in 11:44.10 and the 200 back in 2:28.28.

The 200 medley relay team of Gates, Weston, Wilson and Krueger topped the season-best mark with a time of 1:59.24 while the 200 free relay team of Bates, Krueger, Moles and Wilson picked up a win in the final event of the night in a time of 1:47.71.

The Bulldogs return to action on Saturday (Oct. 8) when it battles league foes Milwaukee and UIC, as well as North Dakota, in Milwaukee, Wis., beginning at 2:00 p.m. ET.