Swimming Championships Moved To Akron

Feb. 22, 2008

Cleveland, Ohio - The Horizon League Swimming and Diving Championships have been moved to the University of Akron's Oliver J. Ocasek Natatorium following a water-main break in the area surrounding Cleveland State University's Busbey Natatorium on Friday morning (Feb. 22)

The change of venue has prompted two changes to the format. Preliminary sessions---scheduled for 10:30 a.m. (Eastern time) each day---have been eliminated, with event championships to be determined in 5 p.m. (ET) timed finals each night. In addition, the two remaining diving championships, the men's one-meter and the women's three-meter, will both be determined at noon on Saturday (Feb. 23).

The shift affects 12 swimming events for each gender, with both men's and women's competitions in the 400-yard individual medley, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke, 100-yard backstroke and 800-yard freestyle relay scheduled for Friday. Saturday's schedule includes the 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 10-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly and 400-yard freestyle relay.

Because of the move, the Horizon League Network will not provide live web streaming of Friday's competition. HLN may have coverage Saturday if the competition returns to Busbey Natatorium.

Crews were attempting to repair the water-main break Friday in time to allow action to resume on the Cleveland State campus tomorrow.

Both defending champions lead the standings after two days of competition, with the Wright State University men owning a 21-point advantage over second-place University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee after eight events. The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay women hold a 28-point lead over Milwaukee in their quest for a fourth consecutive Horizon League championship.

Further information will be provided when available.