Distance Runners Lead Butler

Distance Runners Lead Butler
Junior Katie Clark

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Butler's distance crew took center stage at the Stan Lyons Invitational on Saturday (April 27), leading the Bulldogs to five individual wins in the nine-team event.  The competition was Butler's lone home meet of the 2013 outdoor season.

Junior Katie Clark continued her strong spring performance with a near-record effort in the women's 1500 meter run.  Making her spring debut in the event, Clark finished first in 4:17.94, narrowly missing the school-record time of 4:17.78 set by teammate Kirsty Legg in 2012.  Sophomore Mara Olson finished second to Clark in 4:29.71, while senior Kaitlyn Love came in fourth in 4:38.27.

The Bulldogs also had a one-two finish in both the men's 1500 and the men's 5000.  Freshman Luke Zygmunt placed first in the 1500 in 3:47.83, while junior Tom Anderson came in second in 3:48.23.  Anderson and sophomore James Martin then crossed the finish line with the identical time of 14:34.69 in the 5000.  Anderson was awarded first, while Martin was second.

Sophomore Tom Curr won the men's 800 in 1:50.25, while freshman Stephanie Hanagan captured the women's 3,000 in 10:39.83.  The Bulldogs also captured both the men's and women's 4 X 400 relays.  The men's team of Alex Berry, Matthew Schumacker, Andrew Wallace and Curr posted a winning time in 3:25.22, while Amy Wright, Maddie Cassidy, Kiley Shelley and Samantha Johnson paced the women's field in 4:05.49.

Sophomore Nicole Hudec notched runner-up finishes in both the women's 100 and the women's long jump.  She crossed the finish line in 12.68 in the 100, 0.27 shy of her own school mark in the event.  She then finished second in the long jump with a leap of 5.26 meters.

Junior Billy Klimczak finished runner-up in the men's 3,000 with a time of 8:46.23, while senior Matt Proctor was a shade back in second place with a time of 8:46.43.  Sophomore Kellen Strobel came in third in the men's 800 with a time of 1:54.09.

Athletes from Indiana, Illinois, Indiana State, Bradley, Eastern Illinois, DePaul, IUPUI and IPFW joined the Bulldogs at the Stan Lyons Invitational.