Bulldogs Dominate Horizon League Cross Country Championship

Bulldogs Dominate Horizon League Cross Country Championship

Oct. 30, 2004

Senior Victoria Mitchell posted an 11-second win in the women's race and the Bulldogs swept the top six spots in the men's competition as Butler ran off with the men's and women's titles at the Horizon League Cross Country Championship at UW-Parkside in Kenosha, Wis., on Saturday, Oct. 30. It was the seventh consecutive championship for the Butler men, while Butler's women captured their third straight crown and their seventh in nine years!

Mitchell, running in her first league cross country meet, set the tone for the afternoon by winning the women's 5K race in 18:02. She finished 11 seconds ahead of runner-up Maureeca Lambert of Loyola and 29 seconds ahead of teammate Monica Behney in third place! It marked the second consecutive year that Butler claimed the women's individual championship.

Mitchell and Behney earned first team All-League recognition, and they were joined by teammates Ava Hutchinson (4th, 18:32), and Monika Schneider (7th, 18:52). Earning second team All-League recognition were Katie Stuckey (8th, 18:59), Genni Gardner (9th, 19:02), Maria Beitel (10th, 19:02) and Sarah Kemple (11th, 19:03). Butler had eight runners cross the finish line before the second runner of any other team!

Gardner, just a freshman running in her first league championship meet, was named Horizon League Newcomer of the Year.

The men's race turned out to be even more one-sided. Butler runners claimed the top six individual places and the Bulldogs recorded a perfect score of 15. Three Butler runners crossed the finish line together in first place, but the individual crown was given to senior Andrew Sherman. Senior Nick Goodliffe was second and junior Scott Overall was third. All three posted a 25:31 finishing time!

Right behind the top three Butler runners were senior Thomas Frazer in fourth place and senior John Frazer in fifth place. The two brothers crossed the finish line in 25:32. Senior Olly Laws, last year's Horizon League individual champ, came in sixth in 25:41!

All six Butler runners earned first team All-League recognition, while senior Brian Dunn, who came in 12th in 26:16, was named second team All-League. Butler head coach Joe Franklin was named Horizon League Coach of the Year for both men and women for the third straight year.

HORIZON LEAGUE WOMEN?S CHAMPIONSHIP: 1. Butler 23, 2. Loyola 60, 3. UW-Milwaukee 84, 4. Youngstown State 102, 5. Detroit 132, 6. UIC 178, 7. Wright State 182, 8. UW-Green Bay 200.

HORIZON LEAGUE MEN?S CHAMPIONSHIP: 1. Butler 15, 2. Loyola 66, 3. UW-Milwaukee 78, 4. Youngstown State 127, 5. UIC 138, 6. Wright State 163, 7. UW-Green Bay 184, 8. Detroit 192.