Wright State Holds Off Bulldogs, 6-4

Wright State Holds Off Bulldogs, 6-4

March 28, 2009

Box Score

Dayton, Ohio - A four-run third inning by host Wright State would prove to be too much for the Bulldogs to overcome, as Butler dropped a 6-4 contest to the Raiders in the finale of a three-game series on Saturday (March 28) at Nischwitz Stadium.

After WSU took an early 1-0 lead in the second on a lead-off home run, Kyle Schultz counted with a long ball of his own with two down and a runner on in the top of the third, driving the first offering he saw over the right field fence to put the Bulldogs in front 2-1.

The Raiders responded in their half of the frame with four runs on four hits to go ahead 5-2 and added an unearned run in the fourth to build up a four-run lead.

Butler had a chance to cut into the difference in the fifth, as Griffin Richeson and Luke Duncan ripped back-to-back two-out singles before Schultz drew a walk to load the bases, but the Raiders would get an inning-ending strikeout to quell the threat.

The Bulldogs cut the difference in half in the sixth. Grant Fillipitch led off the inning with a double before coming home on a two-bagger down the right field line by Bobby Mosser. Mike Hoscheit plated another run on an RBI single through the left side to cut the difference to 6-4 and put runners on first and second with one down, but the Raiders would again escape further trouble by inducing an inning-ending double-play.

A lead-off triple by Duncan in the seventh put the Bulldogs in prime scoring position once more, but WSU managed to come out unscathed.

Butler out-hit the Raiders, 10-9, but three errors by the Bulldogs led to a pair of unearned runs by Wright State.

Jeff Sinkiewicz came out of the bullpen in the third and worked a masterful five innings of relief, allowing just two hits and one unearned run while striking out four.

Duncan, Richeson and Schultz each finished with two hits in the contest.

The Bulldogs return to action on Tuesday (March 31) when they host Dayton beginning at 4:00 p.m. at Victory Field in downtown Indianapolis.