Four Butler Players Honored By A-10

Four Butler Players Honored By A-10
Senior Rotnei Clarke (Photo by John Fetcho)

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Senior Rotnei Clarke was named first team All-Conference and three other Butler men's basketball players earned honors among the 2012-13 Atlantic 10 Conference End of Season Awards, released by the conference office on Tuesday (March 12).

Clarke, who leads the Bulldogs and ranks fourth in the A-10 in scoring, was the lone Butler player to earn a spot on one of the three All-Conference teams, selected by a vote of conference coaches.  Butler sophomore Roosevelt Jones was selected to the five-player All-Defensive Team, while freshman Kellen Dunham was named to the All-Rookie Team.  Senior Andrew Smith, a second team Academic All-American, was chosen to the A-10's All-Academic Team, picked by a vote of conference sports information directors.

Khalif Wyatt of Temple was named conference Player of the Year, and he joined Clarke on the first team All-Conference Team.  VCU's Briante Weber was selected conference Defensive Player of the Year, while Semaj Christon of Xavier was tabbed conference Rookie of the Year.

Head coach Jim Crews of Saint Louis, who led the Billikens to the conference regular season championship, was named A-10 Coach of the Year, while Saint Louis forward Cody Ellis was selected as the conference Sixth Man of the Year.  Travis Taylor of Xavier was picked as the league's Most Improved Player.

In addition to Clarke and Wyatt, the first team All-Conference squad included Ramon Galloway of La Salle, Dwayne Evans of Saint Louis and Chaz Williams of Massachusetts.  Named second team were Christon, Juvonte Reddic and Treveon Graham of VCU, Tyreek Duren of La Salle and Kevin Dillard of Dayton.  Selected third team All-Conference were Darien Brothers of Richmond, Ronald Roberts of Saint Joseph's, Kwamain Mitchell and Jordair Jett of Saint Louis and Taylor.

The All-Defensive Team was made of up Jones, Weber, Jett, Pierria Henry of Charlotte and Darius Theus of VCU, while the All-Rookie team included Christon, Dunham, Derrick Coulter of Duquesne, Willie Clayton of Charlotte and Melvin Johnson of VCU.

Smith headed the All-Academic Team, which included Evans, Nemanja Mikic of George Washington, T. J. DiLeo of Temple and Nikola Malesevic of Rhode Island.

The announcement of the A-10 End of Season Awards kicked off a week that will culminate at the 2013 Atlantic 10 Men's Basketball Championship at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y.  Butler, seeded fifth, begins play in the 12-team tournament against #12 Dayton on Thursday, March 14, at 2:30 p.m.