Eleven Take Home Honors at End of Season Banquet

Eleven Take Home Honors at End of Season Banquet

Andrew Huck, Nick Caldicott and Michael Wilson took home the team's Most Valuable Player honors for the 2009 campaign. They were among 11 players who received awards at the team's annual awards banquet Jan. 17.

Huck, the starting quarterback for the Bulldogs, was also named the  Offensive Most Improved Player. Huck led an offensive attack that led the Pioneer Football League. In addition to finishing third in the league in passing per game (204.5), Huck was second among quarterbacks in rushing touchdowns with ten.

Caldicott, in his first season starting at linebacker, was named the Defensive MVP. Caldicott led the team in tackles (70) in 2009. He also finished second on the team with three interceptions, two of which came against Drake to secure the Pioneer Football League Championship.

Wilson was tabbed as the team's Most Valuable Player on special teams. Wilson pinned nearly half of his punts inside the 20 yard line (29-63). He also had seven punts of 50 yards or more, including a career-long of 69 yards.

Peter Xander, starting defensive tackle, received the Bulldog Pride Award, given to the player who most exemplifies the Butler Way. Xander finished the season with 18 tackles. Jack McKenna was named the Most Improved player on the defense. McKenna finished 2009 tied for second on the team in interceptions (3) including one on the final play of the Gridiron Classic to give the Bulldogs their first post-season victory in school history.

The One Play Warrior Award, given to the player who accumulates the most points on specials teams over the course of the season was awarded to Spencer Summerville. Summerville finished third on the team in tackles with 68. Donny Gilmore won the Battle of the Trenches award for the team's best lineman. Gilmore extended his streak of consecutive starts to 34 this season.

Butler's Unsung Hero Awards, honoring scout team players of the year, were awarded to three Bulldogs. David Thomas was named the Offensive Unsung Hero, Bob Olszewski earned the Unsung Hero on Defense and Daniel Haber was the Special Teams Unsung Hero.