Season Awards Presented At Football Banquet

Season Awards Presented At Football Banquet

    Senior Zach Watkins (right), junior Jordan Ridley and sophomore Kevin Cook earned Butler football Most Valuable Player awards for the 2011 season.  The three MVP’s were among a host of players honored at the team’s annual season-ending awards banquet on Sunday, Jan. 22.

    Watkins, who finished his career as Butler’s all-time leading pass receiver, was named the Bulldogs’ Offensive Top Dog.  He set Butler single season records for receptions (80) and receiving yards (1,044) in 2011, and he wound up second on the team in scoring with eight touchdowns.  The first team All-Pioneer Football League receiver finished his career with Butler all-time records for catches (254) and receiving yards (2,994).
    Ridley, the leading tackler in the PFL for a second consecutive year, earned Butler’s Defensive Top Dog Award for the second straight season.  He ranked among the national leaders in the NCAA Division I FCS in tackles in both total tackles (140) and assists (94),  The talented linebacker, who earned first team All-PFL honors for a second consecutive year, had 10 or more tackles in eight of Butler’s 11 games, and he recorded the top two single game performances in the PFL with 20 tackles against Valparaiso and 19 against Campbell in 2011.

    Cook, who saw action in all 11 Butler games on special teams and as a defensive back, was named Butler’s Special Teams Top Dog.  He finished the season with 12 solo tackles and 16 assists.

    Senior Jeff Poss received the team’s Bulldog Pride Award, given to the player who best exemplifies The Butler Way, for the second consecutive year.  Poss played in all 11 games as a starting defensive end, and he tied Butler’s career record for games played with 45.  Senior Pete Mattingly, a starting offensive lineman in all 11 games this season and in 40 consecutive Butler games, earned Butler’s Offensive Battle of the Trenches Award Offense (Lineman of the Year) for the second straight year.  Senior Grant Hunter, who led the Bulldogs in quarterback sacks (9.5) and tackles for loss (19), earned the team’s Defensive Battle of the Trenches Award (Lineman of the Year).  Senior offensive lineman Charlie Schmelzer received the team’s Most Improved Player Award, while freshman linebacker Zack Sedivy earned the team’s Newcomer of the Year Award.  Sedivy finished eighth on the team in tackles with 39.

    Head coach Jeff Voris presented Unsung Hero Awards, honoring scout team Players of the Year, to sophomore JoJo Ciancio (Defense), freshman Matt Lancaster (Offense) and freshman Dan Satterthwaite (Special Teams).   The Butler coach also presented a “One Play Warrior” Award for Special Teams performance to senior Robert Koteff for the second straight season.

2011 Butler Football Awards
Captains:  Nick Caldicott, Jordan Ridley, Andrew Huck, Jeff Larsen
Offense Top Dog:  Zach Watkins
Defensive Top Dog:  Jordan Ridley
Special Teams Top Dog:  Kevin Cook
Bulldog Pride:  Jeff Poss
Battle of the Trenches Offense:  Pete Mattingly
Battle of the Trenches Defense:  Grant Hunter
Most Improved Player:  Charlie Schmelzer
Newcomer of the Year:  Zack Sedivy
Unsung Hero (Offense):  Matt Lancaster
Unsung Hero (Defense):  JoJo Ciancio
Unsung Hero (Special Teams):  Dan Satterthwaite
One Play Warrior:  Robert Koteff