Butler Football Award Winners Announced

Butler Football Award Winners Announced
Left to right: Dylan Johnson, Trae Heeter and Jeremy Stephens.

TEAM HONORS:  A trio of seniors, Trae Heeter, Jeremy Stephens and Dylan Johnson, earned "Top Dawg" recognition when Butler unveiled its team awards from the 2013 championship football season on Sunday (Jan. 19).  The three were among ten players who received special honors at the team's annual season-ending banquet.

Heeter, who led the Pioneer Football League in rushing for a second consecutive year, was named Butler's Offensive  Top Dawg for the second straight year.  A two-time, first team All-PFL running back, he posted the seventh-highest single season rushing total in Butler history with 1,375 yards, and he scored a league-high 16 touchdowns.  The talented offensive back finished in fourth place on Butler's all-time rushing list with 3,329 career rushing yards.

Stephens walked off with a pair of honors at the banquet.  He was named the team's Defensive Top Dawg for the first time, and he was received the squad's Defensive Battle of the Trenches (Lineman of the Year) Award for the second straight year.  Stephens, a two-time first team All-PFL performer, led the Bulldogs in quarterback sacks (4) and tackles for loss (8).  He closed out his Butler career with 15.5 quarterback sacks and 29.5 tackles for loss, after transferring from Thomas More in 2010.

Johnson, who earned honorable mention All-PFL recognition as a tight end, received Butler's Special Teams Top Dawg Award.  He played in all 13 games for the Bulldogs and finished the year with 21 receptions for 231 yards and three touchdowns as a tight end, plus five tackles on special teams.

Senior quarterback Matt Lancaster earned the squad's Bulldog Pride Award, given to the player who best exemplifies The Butler Way.  Lancaster set a Butler single season record for total offense (3,513 yards), while finishing out his career in fourth place on Butler's all-time passing list (5,469 yards).    The gifted signal caller led Butler to back-to-back PFL titles, while starting 23 games.

Senior offensive lineman Charles Perrecone received the Bulldogs' Offensive Battle of the Trenches Award, after anchoring a line that allowed the fewest quarterback sacks in the PFL.  Perrecone earned first team All-PFL honors as an offensive lineman.

Sophomore Jon Treloar was honored as the team's Most Improved Player, while freshman Josh Willis received the squad's Newcomer of the Year Award.  Treloar, who handled placekicking duties for the Bulldogs, set Butler single game (9) and single season (54) records for PAT kicks, while finishing fifth in the PFL in kick scoring (6.2 ppg).  Willis, a first-year defensive lineman, finished third on the team in quarterback sacks (3), while playing in all 13 games.

Butler head coach Jeff Voris presented Unsung Hero Awards, honoring scout team Players of the Year, to freshman running back Sam Schrader (Offense), freshman defensive lineman Chad Burdo (Defense) and freshman defensive back Kenneth Garrett (Special Teams).  The Butler coach also presented 62 players with varsity letters.

Butler finished a record-breaking season as Co-Champion of the PFL for the second straight year.  The Bulldogs posted a 7-1 league record, a 9-4 overall mark and became the first team in school and PFL history to earn a berth in the NCAA Division I Football Championship.  The Bulldogs broke or tied 19 school individual and team records, including single season scoring (433 points).  Butler had 16 players named to the All-PFL Team in 2013, including three first team players, and six players chosen to the PFL Academic All-Conference Team.


Seniors:    Bryce Barry (St. Charles, Ill.), Kevin Cook (Fishers), Greg Egan (Naperville, Ill.), Sean Grady (Geneva, Ill.), Dan Haber (Calabasas, Calif.), Trae Heeter (Indianapolis), Rhyan Henson (St. Louis, Mo.), Matt Jenson (Green Bay, Wis.), Dylan Johnson (Bloomington, Ill.), Tom Judge (Elmhurst, Ill.), Matt Lancaster (West Lafayette), Wade Markley (Fort Wayne), JT Mesch (Glen Ellyn, Ill.), Charles Perrecone (Roselle, Ill.), Doug Petty (Indianapolis), Phillip Powell (Indianapolis), Thad Satre (Ogden, Iowa), Jimmy Schwabe (Downers Grove, Ill.), Brendan Shannon (Lombard, Ill.), Jeremy Stephens (Indianapolis), Jayme Szafranski (Barrington, Ill.), Paul Yanow (Cincinnati, Ohio).

Third Letter:  Greg Ambrose (Dayton, Ohio), David Burke (Cincinnati, Ohio), Zach Sedivy (Strongsville, Ohio), Glen Somers (LaGrange, Ill.), Don Stewart (St. Louis, Mo.).

Second Letter:  Brian Akialis (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), Kyle Annis (Hilliard, Ohio), Mike Biegalski (Winfield, Ill.), JoJo Ciancio (Darien, Ill.), Christian Eble (Naperville, Ill.), Marquese Martin-Hayes (Chicago, Ill.), Jordan Massey (Plainfield), Nick McInally (Waterford, Mich.), Adam Rodgers (LaGrange, Ill.), Bret Shannon (Geneva, Ill.), Steve Sreniawski (Chicago, Ill.), David Tiwari (Bloomington), Jon Treloar (Loveland, Ohio), Rico Watson (Nashville, Tenn.), Zack Wolfe (Crest Hill, Ill.).

First Letter:  Max Brodbeck (Lima, Ohio), Brandon Collins (New Palestine), Jesse Correll (Cincinnati, Ohio), Justin Crull (Loveland, Ohio), Mike Demos (Glenview, Ill.), Guy DiBalsamo (Chicago, Ill.), Ian Dobek (Bartlett, Ill.), Zach Gorge (Fishers), Sean Horan (Kings Mills, Ohio), Ryan Kelsey (Naperville, Ill.), Zach LaRoche (Marysville, Ohio), Quinn Murphy (LaGrange, Ill.), Kyle Payne (Cincinnati, Ohio), Jeff Pikel (Fort Wayne), Nestor Porres (Fishers), Jordan Ransone (Long Beach), Matt Shiltz (St. Charles, Ill.), David Starkey (Wauconda, Ill.), Malcolm Weaver (Evanston, Ill.), Josh Willis (Bowie, Md.).