Butler Men's Golf Team Earns National Academic Honor

The Butler men’s golf team was one of 10 Division I squads honored by the Golf Coaches Association of America with President’s Special Recognition status for performance in the classroom.  The special honor was part of the GCAA’s All-Academic Team recognition program.

The President’s Special Recognition was given to teams with a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or higher.  Joining Butler in the top academic category were Brown, DePaul, Detroit Mercy, Duke, East Tennessee State, Gonzaga, Mercer, Seton Hall and Wofford.  DePaul, with a 3.66 team GPA, was named Academic National Champion for Division I.

To be eligible for GCAA All-Academic Team honors a college or university must submit the grade points earned and hours attempted for each player on its official squad list for the academic year.  A total of 113 teams (in all Divisions) submitted GPA’s of 3.00 or higher, the standard for All-Academic Team recognition.

The Bulldogs had a league-high six members of the men’s golf team named to the 2010 Horizon League Spring Academic Honor Roll.  Honored by the Horizon League were senior Kevin Swanson, junior Ryan Wegeng and sophomores Jordan Mack, Josh Ruff, Alex Snyder and Alex Walker.  Five of the six student-athletes boasted a cumulative grade point average of 3.60 or higher!