Three Butler Players Earn Atlantic 10 Men’s Soccer Honors

Three Butler Players Earn Atlantic 10 Men’s Soccer Honors
Brandon Fricke (5), Zach Steinberger (10) and Jeff Adkins (8)

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Sophomores Zach Steinberger and Brandon Fricke and freshman Jeff Adkins each earned recognition on the 2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference Team, released by the conference office on Wednesday, Nov. 7.  The All-Conference Team was selected by a vote of the 16 conference head coaches.

Steinberger, who finished as Butler's second-leading scorer in 2012, was named to the All-Conference Second Team.  The second-year midfielder had four goals and four assists for the Bulldogs, while starting all 18 matches.  It's the second straight year that he's earned all-conference honors.

Adkins, who led the Bulldogs in scoring in his first season, was picked to the A-10 All-Rookie Team.  The Butler forward posted team-highs of five goals and five assists, and he led the Bulldogs in both shots (44) and shots on goal (21).  He started 17 matches in his rookie season.

Fricke, a starting defender for the Bulldogs, was named to the A-10 All-Academic Team.  An honor student majoring in Mechanical Engineering/Economics, Fricke started 17 matches for the Bulldogs and recorded one goal and two assists.  The second-year defender helped Butler post five shutouts in 2012.  He was named to the Capital One Academic All-District V University Division Men's Soccer Team a year ago.

Jason Johnson of VCU was named Atlantic 10 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, while Nick Hagglund of Xavier was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year.  Donnie Smith of Charlotte earned Midfielder of the Year honors and Jared Martinelli of Temple was picked conference Rookie of the Year.  Mike McGinty of Saint Louis was selected as the conference Coach of the Year.

Butler finished the 2012 campaign with a 5-8-5 overall record and a 3-5-1 A-10 record.