Butler Slips Past Marshall, 3-2, At Dayton Tournament

Butler Slips Past Marshall, 3-2, At Dayton Tournament

Senior Frank Patano scored his second goal of the match with less than 10 minutes to play to lift Butler to a 3-2 victory over Marshall in the final round of the Dayton Flyer Courtyard By Marriott Tournament in Dayton, Ohio, on Sunday, Sept. 21. The victory gave the Bulldogs a 2-0 record in the tournament for the second straight year.

Butler (5-1-1) and Marshall (0-7-0) traded goals 15 minutes into the second half to deadlock the match at 2-2 and the score remained tied until the final 10 minutes of the contest. The key moment came with 9:44 remaining when Patano, who had scored Butler's second goal at 55:12, took a throw-in from junior Kyle VondenBenken and finished the play by slipping a shot past Marshall goalkeeper Greg Walter for the eventual game-winner. The Bulldogs held Marshall to just one shot in the final nine minutes.

The decisive goal was Patano's third of the tournament and his seventh of the season. The senior forward, who was MVP of the Dayton Flyer Tournament a year ago, recorded his fourth game-winner in seven matches this season!

The Thundering Herd jumped to a 1-0 lead just 15 minutes into the match on Dustin Dawes' first goal of the season. But sophomore Kyle Pateros knotted the match with less than five minutes to play in the first half after taking a pass from senior David Giarratana. The goal was the second of the season for Pateros.

Marshall matched Patano's first goal when Jira Cooley slipped a shot past Butler goalkeeper Nick Hegeman at 57:08, setting up the exciting finish.

The Bulldogs had a 19-7 advantage in shots over Marshall, and a 10-3 advantage in shots on goal. Patano led the way with five shots and four shots on goal, while senior Eduardo Garcia added four shots and three shots on goal. Garcia and Pateros each picked up an assist on Patano's first goal.

Hegeman, who turned in a shutout in Butler's 3-0 victory over Robert Morris in the opening round of the tournament, was nicked for his first two goals of the season. He finished the match with one save.

Patano, Garcia, Hegeman and freshman Matt Hedges were named to the All-Tournament, following the conclusion of the tournament. Dayton's Florian DeCamps was named tournament MVP. The host Flyers posted back-to-back shutouts of Marshall (1-0) and Robert Morris (5-0) and claimed the tournament title.