Butler Slips Past Loyola, 2-1

Butler Slips Past Loyola, 2-1

Oct. 15, 2004

Box Score

Senior David Wyrick nailed the game-winner just over 17 minutes into the second half to lead Butler to a 2-1 victory over visiting Loyola in a Horizon League match at Varsity Field on Friday, Oct. 15. The win kept the Bulldogs perfect in league play with a 4-0 record and lifted Butler to 10-3-1 on the season, while Loyola fell to 1-11-1 overall and 1-4 in league action.

Wyrick took a pass from teammate Scott Olsen and went one-on-one against Loyola goalkeeper Tim Jenkerson. The Butler midfielder made a quick move to the right to get past the Loyola goalkeeper and when Jenkerson slipped, Wyrick fired a shot from eight yards out to the left corner of an open net. The goal at 64:03 was Wyrick's fifth this season and his third game-winner this year.

Ironically, Wyrick also had the game-winning goal in Butler's last meeting with Loyola in the 2003 Horizon League Tournament.

"David showed a lot of composure to finish that play," said Butler head coach Joe Sochacki after the match. "There's a tendency for players to rush when they see an open net and it can be a difficult play to finish."

Wyrick's goal was the lone score of the second half, though both teams had eight shots in the final period. Jenkerson had two second half saves and three for the match, while Butler goalkeeper Evan Reinhardt had one save in each half.

Loyola took a lead midway through the first half when Mark Eckerle took a cross from Matt Marek and beat Reinhardt from eight yards out on the right side. It was Eckerle's third goal of the season.

Butler countered with just over two minutes remaining in the first half on a long-range goal by senior Cory Edgington. The Butler forward fired a shot from 30 yards out that found the lower right hand corner of the net. The goal was Edgingston's seventh this season.

The Bulldogs will take the weekend off and then return to action against defending national champion Indiana. The non-league match will be played at Kuntz Stadium in Indianapolis on Wednesday, Oct. 20, at 7 p.m.