Ventimiglia, Hafele Named To Horizon League All-Tournament Team

Ventimiglia, Hafele Named To Horizon League All-Tournament Team

INDIANAPOLIS - Sophomores Jackie Hafele and Anna Ventimiglia were picked for the Horizon League Women's Soccer Championship All-Tournament Team. The Bulldogs, the tourney's No. 6 seed, fell 1-0 in the semifinal to eventual champion Milwaukee.

The Bulldogs advanced to the semifinal with a thrilling 5-4 penalty kicks session against Valparaiso. The match was tied 2-2 and the Crusaders had two chances to win the PKs, but the Bulldogs prevailed after eight rounds.

It was the first time Hafele or Ventimiglia had been tabbed for the all-tourney team. Jackie's sister, Nikki, was an all-tournament honoree last year. 

Milwaukee's Keara Thompson was picked as the tournament's Most Valuable Player. The Panthers, ranked 15th in the country, defeated Wright State 5-1 in the final. 

2011 Horizon League All-Tournament Team

Jackie Hafele, Butler
Anna Ventimiglia, Butler
Alexandra Suschak, Detroit
Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit
Jen Agueci,Wright State
Bekah Bonny, Wright State
Brittany Persuad, Wright State
Jamie Forbes, Milwaukee
Sarah Hagen, Milwaukee
Mackenzie Gillaspie, Milwaukee
Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee 

MVP: Keara Thompson, Milwaukee