Jenny Esparza, Kristin Gutierrez Named All-Conference

Jenny Esparza, Kristin Gutierrez Named All-Conference
Jenny Esparza (left) and Kristin Gutierrez

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. -- Butler pitchers Jenny Esparza and Kristin Gutierrez were among 33 players named to the 2013 Atlantic 10 Conference Softball All-Conference Team, selected by a vote of league head coaches.  The conference honor squad was released by the A-10 office on Tuesday, May 7.

Esparza, who completed her senior season with a 7-5 record and a 1.92 earned run average, was chosen to the 11-player All-Conference Second Team.  Gutierrez, who posted a 3.99 earned run average with seven victories in her first season with the Bulldogs, was one of 13 players picked to the conference All-Rookie Team.  The two Butler pitchers helped the Bulldogs to an 11-9 conference record and a 22-24 overall mark.

Conference regular season champ Saint Joseph's captured three of the top four A-10 individual awards.  Senior Taryn Ashway was chosen as the A-10's Pitcher of the Year, while freshman Sarah Yoos was named Rookie of the Year.  Saint Joseph's head coach Terri Adams was tabbed as the A-10 Coach of the Year.  Catcher Stephanie Pasquale of Temple was selected as the conference Player of the Year.

2013 Atlantic 10 Softball All-Conference Teams

First Team
Stephanie Pasquale, Temple
Jamie LaBovick, Fordham
Sarah Yoos, Saint Joseph's
Kayla Lombardo, Fordham
Sarah Prezioso, Temple
Laura Bohning, Saint Louis
Katie Bettencourt, Massachusetts
Cyndil Matthews, Massachusetts
Dana Parks, Saint Joseph's
Courtney Martin, George Washington
Taryn Ashway, Saint Joseph's

Second Team
Gabby Luety, Fordham
Tiffany Meeks, Massachusetts
Samantha Slade, Charlotte
Monica Aguilar, Saint Joseph's
Elise Fortier, Fordham
Tiffany Ricks, Dayton
Briana Gwaltney, Charlotte
Autumn Taylor, George Washington
Ali Robinson, Temple
Jenny Esparza, Butler
Kayla English, Dayton

All-Rookie Team
Jessica Plemmons, Charlotte
Carlee Gray, George Washington
Kendra Heyer, La Salle
Taylor Carbone, Massachusetts
Sarah Yoos, Saint Joseph's
Kelsey Dominik, Temple
Annie Marcopolus, Temple
Kristin Gutierrez, Butler
Emily Froment, Dayton
Meghan Rico, Geo. Washington
Laney Kneib, Saint Louis
Brianna Lore, Saint Louis