Stahl Earns Honorable Mention All-America Honors

Stahl Earns Honorable Mention All-America Honors
Erica Stahl

Official Release

Seattle, Wash. – Junior middle blocker Erica Stahl has been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) honorable mention All-America Team as announced by the AVCA on Wednesday, Dec. 18.

Stahl impacted the Butler lineup on a nightly basis as the First Team All-BIG EAST selection was involved in all 113 sets on the year, starting in 32 matches. She led the team with 158 blocks, helping Butler rank fifth nationally in blocks per set and putting herself at 16th overall with a blocks per set average of 1.40.

Offensively, Stahl finished the season with 214 kills and the best attack percentage on the team at .307. She rounded out the season with a stat line of 32 digs and 15 assists.

The AVCA announced the 33rd annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams for women's volleyball on Wednesday, yet the awards will be presented Friday, Dec. 20, 2013, in Seattle, Washington at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet. The event is held in conjunction with the 2013 AVCA Convention.

Each of the three AVCA All-America Teams is comprised of 14 athletes. The Division I AVCA National Player of the Year will be announced on Dec. 20 at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet presented by Northwestern Mutual.

Penn State University outside hitter Deja McClendon headlines this year's recipients as the only player in the 2013 class to be honored as a four-time AVCA All-American.  Also, Texas outside hitter Haley Eckerman, Southern California libero Natalie Hagglund, Hawai'i outside hitter Emily Hartong, Missouri outside hitter Lisa Henning, Penn State opposite Ariel Scott, Texas outside hitter Bailey Webster, Michigan State outside hitter Lauren Wicinski and Penn State middle blocker Katie Slay all garner AVCA honors for a third time.

Of all of the First-Team honorees, exactly three are first-time All-American recipients.  Through all three teams, exactly 21 have garnered All-American awards prior to 2013. 

The selections were made by the AVCA Division I All-America Committee:  East Region: Mike Johnson, Xavier; East Coast Region: Tonya Johnson, Georgia Tech; Midwest Region, Chris Lamb, Wichita State; North Region: Molly Alvey, Cincinnati; Northeast Region: Sherry Dunbar, Indiana; Pacific North Region: Jennifer Greeny, Washington State; Pacific South Region: Jeff Nelson, New Mexico; South Region: Matt Peck, Middle Tennessee; Southeast Region: Craig Skinner, Kentucky; Southwest Region: Santiago Restrepo, Oklahoma.  The AVCA Awards Chair is Wisconsin Head Volleyball Coach Kelly Sheffield, but because of his responsibilities as a participant in the NCAA Semifinals, Craig Skinner served as acting chair.